Home > Uncategorized > African sides sweat on draw

African sides sweat on draw

African teams are waiting in anticipation to find out their fate as the draw for the 2014 FIFA World Cup qualification process is held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil on Saturday from 18h00 GMT.

The latest FIFA World Rankings released this week has determined the various pots that the African sides will be placed in for the draw.

The only African side not to be placed in the draw is Mauritania, who have withdrawn from the competition.

Here is how the African qualifiers work:

Round One
The 24 lowest ranked teams in Africa go into the draw for the first round. A total of 12 matches will be played over two legs in November and the winners advance to the group stage.

The sides competing in the first round will placed into top separate pots to determine the draw. The top 12 teams are in pot 5 and the bottom 12 in Pot 6.

The draw starts with a ball from Pot 6. This team plays at home in the first leg against a team from Pot 5. The draw then continues accordingly by alternating between Pot 6 and Pot 5.

Pot 5: Burundi, Congo, DR Congo, Ethiopia, Kenya, Liberia, Madagascar, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Tanzania, Togo

Pot 6: Chad, Comoros, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Guinea-Bissau, Lesotho, , Mauritius, Sao Tome e Principe, Seychelles, Somalia, Swaziland

Round Two
The 12 first round winners join the remaining 28 teams in the second round. The 40 teams are drawn into 10 round-robin, home and away groups of four teams each and will play from June next year to September 2013.

Only the group winners then advance to the third and final round.

For the groups, the teams will be allocated into four different pots for the draw. When the draw is made FIFA will start with Pot 4 and place one team in each group, then onto Pot 3, Pot 2 and finally Pot 1 where Bafana Bafana are placed. The groups are filled starting with Group A and ending with Group J.

The allocations are:

Pot 1: Algeria, Cameroon, Burkina Faso, Egypt, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Tunisia

Pot 2: Botswana, Cape Verde Islands, Gabon, Guinea, Libya, Malawi, Mali, Morocco, Uganda, Zambia

Pot 3: Angola, Benin, Central African Republic, Gambia, Niger, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Zimbabwe, Winner 1, Winner 2

Pot 4: Winners of matches 3 to 12 from the first round

Round Three
The 10 group winners from Round Two contest the final round.

The 10 teams will be paired into five home-and-away series for matches to be played in October and November 2013. The five winners go onto the World Cup finals in Brazil.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: